My team and I tested more than 75 free VPNs and found the best ones for Chrome. However, keep in mind that all free VPNs come with restrictions like smaller server networks, slow speeds, and data caps. I recommend ExpressVPN for Chrome. It’s not completely free, but it doesn’t come with annoying limitations as free VPNs do. ExpressVPN has military-grade security features, a high-speed global server network, and unlimited data. You can try ExpressVPN out risk-free because it’s backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. I tested its refund policy, and I got my money back in 2 days hassle-free. Try ExpressVPN Risk-Free

Best Free VPNs for Chrome — Full Analysis (Updated in March 2023)

1. ExpressVPN — Overall Best Chrome VPN With Robust Security Features and a High-Speed Global Network

ExpressVPN’s app keeps all your online information secure, including in Google Chrome. It uses AES 256-bit encryption, and its kill switch (Network Lock) protects your data if the VPN suddenly disconnects. On top of that, ExpressVPN has IP/DNS leak protection and you can choose between multiple security protocols (including Lightway, OpenVPN, and IKEv2). During my tests, I preferred using its unique Lightway protocol — it’s super secure and had the fastest speeds. The VPN also offers a Chrome browser extension which works as a remote control for the app. This means all of your online activity is protected by the VPN, not just what passes through the Chrome browser. I was impressed that ExpressVPN’s browser extension provides the same level of security as the VPN app does (something that other VPNs don’t have since their extensions are usually proxies). Moreover, the extension offers extra features the app doesn’t have. Its HTTPS Everywhere feature gives you an extra layer of safety as it automatically connects you to the more secure versions of websites. Moreover, its WebRTC protection prevents websites from discovering your true IP address while connected to the VPN. I also made sure the “Spoof Your Location” button was toggled on so that I could stop HTML5 geolocation from showing my physical whereabouts. When I checked mylocation.org, it indeed showed the same country as the VPN location I was connected to. It takes your privacy seriously with its strict no-logs policy, too. While reading through it, I found that ExpressVPN’s policy has been audited and verified by independent security companies — it won’t log any of your data. In addition to this, its TrustedServer Technology (RAM-based servers) means all data is wiped with the flick of a switch when the server is rebooted. Moreover, its headquartered in the British Virgin Islands (outside the 14-Eyes Alliance), so it’s not obligated by law to store any data. ExpressVPN is one of the fastest VPNs I’ve ever used. When I tested 12 of its servers located in the UK, US, and Japan, I had an average speed of 65.8 Mbps (this is 13 times faster than what you need for HD streaming). It also offers unlimited data, so you can browse with Chrome and stream videos in high quality without worrying about data limits. With servers located in 94 countries worldwide, ExpressVPN allows you to access content from anywhere. During my tests, I could consistently unblock US, UK, and Australian Netflix and 13 more libraries using my Chrome browser. Moreover, I could access my Hulu and Disney+ accounts while traveling overseas. The VPN also works in countries with strict online censorship (like China and Iran). However, if you intend to use a VPN in a country that regulates them, make sure to check the local rules and regulations so you don’t break any laws. Its easy-to-use app makes it an excellent VPN for beginners or advanced users. You can use the “smart location” feature, which automatically connects you to the fastest server based on your network and location. Using its built-in speed testing tool, you can also manually select a server based on load and ping. For further ease-of-use, I recommend saving your favorite servers, so you don’t have to waste time searching for them next time you need them. If you only want to protect your Chrome activity, then you can use the split tunneling feature so your other apps use your regular connection. When I tested this on my Android, I set the VPN to only work with Chrome, so I could still use my banking apps that require a local connection. Because the VPN wasn’t encrypting every single app I was using, my phone’s battery life improved as well. It’s unfortunate that ExpressVPN isn’t completely free, but it is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. This means that you can try ExpressVPN risk-free. You get unlimited access to all its premium features, including superfast speeds, robust security and privacy protection, and reliable access to geoblocked streaming sites. If you’re not happy with it, you can always claim a refund. I found that ExpressVPN held true to its word when I tested the money-back guarantee. After using ExpressVPN for 25 days, I asked for a refund using its 24/7 live chat support. I answered a few questions about my user satisfaction before the chat agent quickly approved my refund. My money was back in my account in 2 days. Start RISK-FREE With ExpressVPN

The VPN also has superfast speeds and unlimited data, so you don’t have to worry about lag or being cut off mid-stream. When I tested 11 servers, I had an average speed of 57.8 Mbps. These speeds are not as fast as ExpressVPN’s, but I could still watch NCIS in Ultra HD (you only need 25 Mbps for that). By using a combination of strong security features, CyberGhost protects your entire device, including all your Chrome activity. This includes 256-bit encryption, a kill switch, a no-logs policy, an ad/malware blocker, and WiFi protection. WiFi protection is a feature you can customize easily within the app. I tested this by taking my laptop to a local cafe. As soon as my laptop picked up on their WiFi signal, Cyberghost automatically connected. You won’t be at risk of cyber threats. If you only want to protect your Chrome browser, you can use CyberGhost’s free Chrome extension. However, keep in mind that this is just a proxy, meaning that it offers weaker protection than the CyberGhost app does. Moreover, it doesn’t allow you to customize any security features, and it only gives you access to servers in 4 countries (the US, Romania, the Netherlands, and Germany). It’s good if you want to access content from those 4 locations and don’t mind basic security. Although the VPN isn’t 100% free, I recommend testing Cyberghost’s premium version. It even offers a 24-hour free trial that comes without limitations. If you need more time, you can try it out for 45 days with its money-back guarantee. I tested this policy out and asked for a refund using its 24/7 live chat. After a quick chat with the agent, my request was approved. I received the money back in my account within 3 days. Start FREE with CyberGhost

3. Proton VPN — Unlimited Data for Browsing Without Interruption

Proton VPN offers unlimited data and decent speeds, so you can safely browse on Chrome without interruptions. This is impressive since most free VPNs limit your data to a few gigabytes per month and cap your speeds. While testing its free servers (they’re located in the US, Netherlands, and Japan), my speeds averaged 43.4 Mbps. Although it’s fast, it’s still not the best result as it’s a 32% drop from my base connection. For perspective, ExpressVPN only dropped my speeds by 5%. You’re well protected in and outside of Chrome with Proton VPN’s advanced security features. These include 256-bit AES encryption, multiple security protocols (OpenVPN and IKEv2), and a kill switch that protects your entire device. The kill switch is a fail-safe to prevent leaks if you’re suddenly disconnected from the VPN. However, I couldn’t use the ad and malware blocker (called NetShield), since it’s blocked with the free version. It keeps your data private with a strict no-logs policy. Moreover, I felt extra secure knowing that ​​the VPN comes from Proton Technologies, a trustworthy cybersecurity firm. The app is also open-source, so it’s constantly being improved. Plus, its headquarters are in Switzerland (outside the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliance). This means that Proton VPN can’t be forced to share your personal information with member countries of this agreement. The app is easy to use and the setup is simple — it only took me 5 minutes to download and install Proton VPN. Moreover, I liked using its “quick connect” button, as it automatically connected me to the best free nearby server. However, I was a bit disappointed that I had to give contact details to use the free app and it doesn’t offer a Chrome extension. In addition, its free servers don’t support torrenting and I couldn’t unblock most popular streaming sites. When I tried to access my US Netflix account with the US-FREE#10 server, I could only see Netflix Originals, which are offered in every region. Proton VPN offers an extensive knowledge base where you can easily find answers to most of your questions. And although there’s no live chat, it does offer email support. When I asked a question about torrenting, it took about 2 days to get a response. This is not very fast, but the customer support responses are helpful, and the representatives are friendly. Start FREE with Proton VPN

4. Avira Phantom VPN — Easy-To-Use App to Secure Chrome on All Your Devices

Avira Phantom VPN lets you connect as many devices as you want since it offers unlimited simultaneous device connections. This is impressive since most free VPNs only allow 1 device connection. Moreover, it offers a user-friendly app to protect your information while browsing on Google Chrome. I could get started with just 1 click using the “secure my connection” button. ​​The VPN offers several features that secure your online data across your whole device (including in Chrome). These include military-grade AES 256-bit encryption and IP/DNS leak protection. When I performed leak tests on ipleak.net, no IP/DNS leaks were detected. However, it doesn’t offer a kill switch, so your information is not protected if the VPN ever suddenly disconnects. Avira Phantom VPN keeps your data private because it has a strict no-logs policy. While reading through it, I found that it doesn’t log any browsing history, IP addresses, or personal information. However, its headquarters are in Germany, which is inside the 14-Eyes Alliance. I had decent speeds when I tested Avira Phantom VPN’s free server (you have to use the “nearest location” feature, so you can’t choose a server location). During my tests, my speeds averaged 28.7 Mbps, which is OK. Unfortunately, it doesn’t offer unlimited data like Proton VPN does — Avira Phantom VPN has a data cap of 500MB per month (or 1GB total if you sign up with your email address). This is just enough for checking your email, updating social media, or downloading small files. Avira also offers a free Chrome extension that allows you to connect to 4 different server locations (the Netherlands, the US, Romania, and Germany). I liked that it doesn’t have an annoying data cap like the VPN app. However, keep in mind that the extension only protects your browser and not your whole device. Moreover, since it’s a proxy, it offers weaker encryption than the app as well. So if you really want to keep your online data protected, I recommend you use the app rather than the Chrome extension. Although it offers an extensive knowledge base where I found the answers to most of my questions, you can’t contact customer support as a free user. Start FREE with Avira Phantom VPN

5. hide.me — Customizable Security Features for Safe Browsing in Chrome

Your online data on your device as well as in Chrome is protected with hide.me’s robust security features. It has 256-bit encryption, split tunneling, a kill switch, multiple security protocols (including OpenVPN), and IP/DNS leak protection. Moreover, during my tests, I used the Stealth Guard feature to block apps from connecting to the internet. This allowed me to conserve the pretty generous 10GB of monthly data, so you can make the most of it. It logs your assigned IP addresses and VPN username, but the data is anonymous and erased every few hours. Plus, its headquarters are located in Malaysia, which is outside the 14-Eyes Alliance. This, combined with the fact that I didn’t need to sign up to use the VPN app, means that you don’t need to worry about hide.me storing your personal information and contact details. I had good speeds with hide.me. When I tested its 5 free servers (Canada, Germany, Netherlands, US East, US West, and “Best Location”), I had an average speed of 25.6 Mbps. Because all the servers support torrenting, I tested it out and was impressed that I could download a 500MB file in just 3 minutes. You can also add hide.me’s free browser extension to Google Chrome. It offers fewer server locations than the app (Canada, Germany, and the Netherlands), but it does come with unlimited data and allows you to disable WebRTC (something the app doesn’t offer). The latter will give you an extra layer of protection against data leaks, since WebRTC can expose your actual IP address. Keep in mind that if you use the extension, only your browser traffic will be protected and you have to enable SOCKS to encrypt your connection. The Chrome extension is more secure than a proxy as it allows the extension to route your online traffic through a remote server. One of the many ways to safeguard your online security and privacy is by using a free VPN. Additionally, they are accessible 24/7 if you need assistance. Sadly, using a VPN to access geo-restricted content on Netflix or other streaming services didn’t seem like a very practical solution. Prior to attempting to unblock Hulu, Disney, and other well-known streaming services, I had trouble accessing Netflix Originals. Then I was told that a VPN had been found. Start FREE with hide.me

6. Hotspot Shield — Catapult Hydra Protocol for Fast Browsing on Google Chrome

Hotspot Shield’s unique Catapult Hydra protocol ensures that you have fast speeds, especially with long-distance connections. While connected to its only free server located in the US (I’m located in Western Europe), I had an average speed of 21.4 Mbps during my tests. This allowed me to browse on Google Chrome without annoying interruptions, plus it was more than fast enough for HD streaming. This free VPN comes with AES 256-bit encryption, IP/DNS leak protection, and a kill switch. When I was looking for the button to turn the kill switch on, I actually found that Hotspot Shield’s kill switch runs in the background. It automatically turns on once you connect to the VPN. This means that you’re always protected against leaks if your VPN suddenly disconnects while browsing on Chrome. The VPN also offers a Chrome browser extension that allows you to block WebRTC, ads, malware, cookies, and trackers. Moreover, I could use its Sword feature to feed web trackers fake information. This way, I could keep my real activities on Chrome private. The app is user-friendly, and you can connect to a server with just one click. In addition, I liked that I didn’t need to register to use Hotspot Shield, so you can keep your contact details anonymous. However, the free version doesn’t allow you to use its live chat. Knowing that Hotspot Shield is a member of the 14-Eyes Alliance and has its corporate headquarters in the US made me a little uneasy. Your bandwidth usage and the duration of your VPN sessions are monitored by Hotspot Shield. However, a lot of VPNs take part in these activities in order to provide and improve their services. No one can identify you either because all of the data is anonymous. The main downside is that you can only use 500MB per day. This is just enough to check your mail, update your social media, and download some music files. Even though I could stream in HD, after a couple of short YouTube videos I had already run out of data. Start FREE with Hotspot Shield

7. TunnelBear — Large Server Network to Access Global Content on Chrome

TunnelBear gives you access to its entire server network. This is impressive as most free VPNs only give you access to a few server locations. With a server network this large, you’re able to access more region-locked content on Google Chrome. Moreover, you can always find servers closeby, which helps give you fast speeds. This was necessary as its long-distance servers were really slow. When I tested its US servers, I had an average speed of 10.6 Mbps. This was 77% slower than my speeds with no VPN. Luckily, when I connected to its local servers in France and Germany, my speed got a bit better and averaged 20.4 Mbps. Your online data is protected with TunnelBear. It has AES 256-bit encryption, an automatic kill switch, and IP/DNS leak protection. Its GhostBear feature offers obfuscation technology, which is designed to work on restricted networks. Moreover, while reading through its strict no-logs policy, I was happy to see that it’s been verified by independent security companies. TunnelBear’s app is very user-friendly and offers a one-click connect button that automatically connects you to the fastest server nearby. Plus, it also offers a free Chrome extension. The Chrome extension, like many VPN extensions, is a proxy, so it has weaker encryption compared to the app. Unfortunately, the app as well as the Chrome extension come with a data cap of 500MB per month. However, I was able to get an extra 1GB of free data by tweeting the company. It only took 5 minutes for my data to be topped up after sending out the Tweet. Start FREE with TunnelBear

Quick Comparison Table: Best Free VPNs for Google Chrome

This table allows you to quickly compare the top features for the Best Free VPNs for Google Chrome. You can see the average speeds, data limit per month, and number of server locations. The WebRTC column shows if you can block WebRTC while using the VPN, which gives you an extra layer of protection in your browser. Try ExpressVPN Risk-Free Today

Tips on How to Choose the Best Free VPN for Google Chrome

These are the most important features a free VPN for Chrome should have. You can use this as a checklist to help you make the best decision for you. However, I made sure all the VPNs in this list have the following features:

Really free. You shouldn’t have to commit to a subscription right away to use a free VPN. All of the VPNs I shortlisted are either completely free or come with a tried and tested money-back guarantee. Advanced security and privacy features. Make sure to choose a VPN that has AES 256-bit encryption and IP/DNS leak protection to safeguard your personal information. All the VPNs on this list offer essential security features and don’t store any identifiable data. Keep in mind that using the VPN app is often a safer choice than using a Chrome extension since almost all VPN extensions are normally just proxies. Fast speeds and enough data. To access content on Google Chrome without annoying slowdowns, you should look for a VPN with good speeds and enough data. I checked all the data limits and tested the speeds to ensure that you can surf the web without long load times. Chrome compatibility. You should be able to use the VPN to protect most of your devices running Chrome. If you’re running Chrome OS, then the Android version of the VPN should be compatible. I ensured that all the free VPNs I included offer native apps for Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android. Moreover, most of them also offer a browser extension for Chrome. Remember that most free VPNs only allow you to connect 1 device at a time, so even if it’s compatible with several devices, you won’t be able to connect to all simultaneously. Good customer support. If you have a question or problem with the VPN, you shouldn’t have to wait for too long to get help. It’s best if a VPN has 24/7 live chat, but most free VPNs don’t offer that. I ensured that all these VPNs either offer customer support or an extensive knowledge base.

Try ExpressVPN Risk-Free Today

Warning: Risks of Free VPNs

Most free VPNs can be risky to use. Downloading a free VPN without doing the proper research to make sure it’s safe can be a threat to your online security. However, all of the free VPNs on this list were tested to make sure that they’re safe. These are some of the risks I found with many of the free VPNs I tested:

Logging and selling your data. Free VPNs often make a profit by selling your personal information to third parties, which essentially defeats the purpose of using a VPN in the first place. Be sure to choose a VPN with a strict zero-logs policy, so your personal information is actually kept safe. Data leaks due to weak security features. Since free VPNs often don’t have the resources to update their software and server infrastructure, IP/DNS data leaks can occur. Moreover, they often miss essential security features such as a kill switch and military-grade encryption. Viruses and malware. Some free VPNs have malware and viruses embedded in their app — this is especially a concern for Windows and Android users. Furthermore, because most free VPNs rely on advertising to make a profit, they often bombard you with ads, which could increase the risk of infecting your device.

Free VPNs to Avoid

The following free VPNs are not safe to use and should be avoided. They can share your data with third parties or include malware and viruses.

Hola: Hola is not a real VPN but a P2P network, meaning that users share their own personal IP addresses with everyone on the network. If someone is involved in illegal activity, you’re accountable as well. Moreover, it logs your data (including websites you visit) and shares it with third parties. CrossVPN: This VPN keeps logs of your personal information (such as domains you’ve visited, your location, and what device you’re using). Moreover, during research done by VirusTotal, the app tested positive for malware on 11 antivirus programs.

Other VPNs to avoid include: Stealth VPN, Totally Free VPN, DotVPN, FreeVPN, OkVPN, EasyVPN, SuperVPN, ArchieVPN, HatVPN, sFly Network Booster, One Click VPN, Fast Secure Payment, BetternetVPN, and TurboVPN.

What is the difference between a free Chrome proxy and a free Chrome VPN?

A free proxy doesn’t encrypt your online data and thus doesn’t keep you safe online the same way a free VPN does. They both hide your IP address, but only a VPN redirects your internet data through an encrypted tunnel. Moreover, A VPN secures all your network traffic (inside and outside Chrome), while a proxy works on an application level (so will only work in the browser itself). You have to be careful since many free proxies for Chrome claim to have the same features as a VPN. In addition, next to free proxies, there are also many unreliable free VPNs out there — they can log and sell your personal information or even have malware-embedded apps. I tried and tested all the free VPNs in this list and only shortlisted ones that were reliable, safe, and trustworthy.

What is the best free VPN to watch Netflix on Google Chrome?

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any free VPNs that could unblock region-locked content on Netflix. Most free VPNs don’t have the resources to keep up with Netflix’s IP blocks. While a few free VPNs let me access Netflix in my Chrome browser (like Proton VPN and hide.me), I could only watch Netflix Originals, which are available in every Netflix region anyway. Moreover, free VPNs often come with data caps and slow speeds that severely limit how much you can stream as well. That’s why I always recommend using a low-cost premium VPN that comes with a money-back guarantee instead. These VPNs have the funds to keep their server networks up-to-date, so they are way more reliable at unblocking not only Netflix, but dozens of other popular streaming platforms, like DIsney+, Hulu, or BBC iPlayer. They also won’t limit your speeds or cap your data, so you can stream in high quality without lag or limitation. You have to pay upfront, but the money-back guarantee means you can get a full refund (usually within 30 days).

Will a free VPN for Chrome slow down my browsing speed?

Yes, all VPNs will slow down your browsing speed. This is because it is constantly connected to a server to encrypt background processes. However, free VPNs will tend to cause a larger speed drop than paid ones since they only offer a few servers (these tend to be slow because of overcrowding). However, all free VPNs shortlisted here gave me speeds higher than 10 Mbps, so they are fast enough to browse the web.

Are free VPNs for Chrome safe?

Only a few free VPNs for Chrome are safe. Many free VPNs available have weak security features, and some even sell your data for a profit. I made sure that this list only includes the safest free VPNs for Chrome. This way, you don’t have to worry about accidentally downloading a shady app that might actually be compromising your privacy.

Is Incognito Mode as safe as using a free VPN for Google Chrome?

No, Incognito doesn’t encrypt your traffic, keep you anonymous, or hide your IP address as a VPN does. Even Chrome itself states that your ISP, websites you visit, and your employer or school can still track your online activities in an Incognito browser. Incognito only deletes cookies, cache data, and browsing history when you close the browser. To avoid tracking and stay private online, it’s important to use a trustworthy VPN. Keep in mind that Chrome blocks extensions when using Incognito. However, if you want to use your VPN extension, you can toggle the “allow in incognito” button on. This can be found by opening Chrome’s settings menu, navigating to “more tools” and clicking on “extensions”. After that, all you have to do is click on “details” for the extension you want to use. Now you can toggle the button for incognito on.

Does Chrome have a built-in free VPN?

No, Chrome doesn’t have a built-in free VPN. Google does have a VPN that comes with premium subscriptions to Google One. It’s more expensive than most top-tier VPNs, is only available for Android and iOS, and it is open about the fact that it doesn’t work to bypass any online geo-restrictions. Any of the VPNs in this list will keep you safe in Google Chrome without any financial commitment. Try ExpressVPN Risk-Free Today

Protect Your Chrome Browser With a Free VPN

Free VPNs can be risky to use and many sell your data to make a profit, making them useless for privacy protection. I shortlisted the best free VPNs for Chrome and while they’re all safe to use, they come with limitations such as data caps and small server networks. That’s why I recommend ExpressVPN even though it’s not 100% free. It offers military-grade security features, unlimited data, one of the best Chrome browser extensions I’ve ever used, and a high-speed global server network. It comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can test ExpressVPN out risk-free. If you’re not impressed, you can always claim a refund.

The best VPNs for Google Chrome with money-back guarantees are…

The information above can be used to track you, target you for ads, and monitor what you do online.

         VPNs can help you hide this information from websites so that you are protected at all times. We recommend ExpressVPN — the #1 VPN out of over 350 providers we've tested. It has military-grade encryption and privacy features that will ensure your digital security, plus — it's currently offering 49% off.        
          Visit ExpressVPN         

7 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 997 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 877 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 287 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 97 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 627 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 827 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 757 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 767 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 27 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 277 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 367 Best FREE VPNs for Chrome in 2023   Extensions   Full Apps - 3