I tested 50+ services to find the best VPNs for Google Nest WiFi routers. The ones I shortlisted are compatible with a large range of routers, provide top-of-the-line encryption, and allow you to watch your favorite movies and shows on Netflix, HBO Max, Disney+, and more. My top recommendation is ExpressVPN. It has superfast speeds and an extensive server network allowing you to connect to anywhere in the world. It also comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee so that you can try ExpressVPN risk-free. Try ExpressVPN Risk-Free! Get Started With ExpressVPN Now!

Best VPNs for Google Nest WiFi Routers — Full Analysis (Updated in 2023)

1. ExpressVPN — Easy Setup to Get Started With Your Google Nest WiFi Immediately

ExpressVPN’s MediaStreamer makes it easy to set it up on your Google Nest WiFi router. You only need to retrieve your MediaStreamer IP addresses from its website and then use them to connect your Google Nest. While it doesn’t offer the same level of security as the regular VPN, the MediaStreamer allows you to access geoblocked content with your Google Nest. Additionally, you can get a pre-flashed router, so you don’t need to go through the setup process. However, these can be a lot more expensive than a regular VPN subscription, and you can find easy-to-follow guides for most routers on ExpressVPN’s website. Thanks to its router app, switching servers is easy. Unlike many other VPNs, ExpressVPN allows you to change the server even after you set it up on your router. This means that you can connect your Google Nest WiFi router to any of its locations with ease. I tested it with the US, UK, and Canada, and switching the location didn’t take more than 3 minutes on average — including the time needed to reset the router. ExpressVPN has superfast speeds, allowing you to browse, stream and download through your Google Nest WiFi router without interruptions. During my tests on its US and UK servers, I had a constant speed of 90 Mbps. This is more than enough for HD streaming and high FPS gaming, so you’ll be able to catch up with the latest titles without any lag or buffering issues. It has a large server network, making it easy to access geoblocked content from anywhere. I tested its servers in multiple locations around the world and had no problems accessing Netflix, Hulu, Disney+, and more. Plus, I could get much better prices for online games through platforms like Steam, as well as access games that aren’t usually available where I am. I do find ExpressVPN more expensive than a lot of other VPNs — it starts at $6.67/month. However, when I signed up it was offering a 49% discount and I got 3 free months of service thrown in. I chose the 1-year plan since it was the best deal. The 6-month and 1-month subscriptions come with all the same features but cost considerably more per month. You can also try ExpressVPN risk-free. It’s backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can ask for a full refund if you don’t like it. I contacted its support team through the 24/7 live chat available on the website and asked for a cancellation and refund. The customer support rep asked me some questions about my user experience but didn’t pressure me to stay. He approved my request and I had my money back in 3 days. Get ExpressVPN Now!

2. CyberGhost — Special Servers for Streaming Blocked Content Using Your Google Nest Router

CyberGhost offers specialized streaming, gaming, and torrenting servers, allowing for an optimal online experience. Since I use my Google Nest router mainly for watching US exclusive titles, I selected a streaming server from the start. This made it easy to access the most popular platforms and websites even though I wasn’t anywhere near the US. It has impressive speeds, meaning that you won’t have to deal with long loading times and buffering. During my tests, I averaged 70 Mbps, which is 14 times faster than the minimum required for HD streaming. This means that you won’t have any problems watching the latest releases. The installation is straightforward and I had CyberGhost running on my first router in less than 15 minutes. Thanks to the guides on its website, you’ll be able to set it up on your router and get started with the Google Nest device in no time. It also offers smart DNS codes in 6 locations, so if you just want to unblock streaming content with your Nest, you don’t need a fancy VPN router at all. Just enter the code in your Nest’s settings and you’re good to go. Plus, it offers 24/7 live chat support, so you can always contact the team for assistance. CyberGhost’s only downside is the high price for monthly subscriptions. However, you can get it for only $2.11/month when you sign up for the 3 years plan (this also includes 3 months of free access). I gave it a try with its 45-day money-back guarantee and wanted to see if getting my money back was easy. So, I messaged the support team through its website and asked them to close my account and grant me a refund. After chatting with them for 15 minutes and answering a few user satisfaction questions, they approved my claim. I had my money back 5 days later. Get CyberGhost Now!

3. Private Internet Access — Large Server Network to Connect Your Google Nest to Anywhere

Private Internet Access has an impressive server network, which is perfect if you want to access international content with your Google Nest router. I tested its servers in the US, UK, Canada, and Australia, and I had no problems watching my favorite movies and shows. I was happy with its fast speeds that allowed me to stream in HD. Servers closest to me had the best performance peaking at 70 Mbps, but long-distance locations weren’t as fast. However, this wasn’t a big issue, as I could watch my shows and play video games on all the devices I hooked to my Google Nest router, including my laptop, phone, and gaming consoles. It’s compatible with a large range of devices and routers, and offers Unlimited simultaneous connections. This means that you’ll be able to set it up with your Google Nest WiFi router, and also protect other devices, such as smartphones when you’re on the go. Plus, the setup is straightforward, so you’ll be ready to browse in no time. PIA’s only downside is that it’s based in the US, where data sharing laws are very strict. However, it doesn’t keep any logs, so you shouldn’t have to worry about having your information shared with anyone. The VPN is affordable to begin with, so you can get your subscription for just $2.03/month. You can test PIA completely free with its 30-day money-back guarantee. To see if it would keep its promise, I sent out a request to its support team and asked for a refund. I had to explain why I was leaving and the agent tried to offer me a better deal, but he cancelled my subscription after a 5 minutes chat. I had all my money back within a week. Get PIA Now!

4. IPVanish — Strong Security to Protect all the Devices Connected to Your Google Nest

IPVanish has strong security features, keeping your data secure. It uses AES-256 encryption and multiple security protocols, so all the devices connected to your Google Nest WiFi router will be safe. This is the strongest encryption available, and it would take a few hundred years for someone to hack through it. It offers fast speeds, so you won’t have to sit through buffering during movie night. I tested 5 different servers with my Google Nest router and the speed never dropped under 65 Mbps. Since you only need 5 Mbps to successfully stream in HD, this should be more than enough. I didn’t experience any interruptions during my tests, and the quality was great. Similar to ExpressVPN, IPVanish offers pre-flashed routers. This means that you can skip the installation process and simply plug in the router for a quick, seamless experience. You’ll only have to connect your Google Nest router through a WAN cable and you’re ready. However, these can be pricey and won’t work with certain internet providers. I was disappointed that it doesn’t offer a money-back guarantee for its monthly plans. However, you can check out its latest deals before you subscribe and get its yearly plan for just $2.49/month (along with its 30-day money-back guarantee). Since I chose its 1-year plan, I could also test the money-back guarantee. I was super-impressed to see I can cancel my account and get a refund from my account’s settings. After logging in to the website, I accessed my dashboard and chose the account cancellation option. I didn’t even need to provide a reason for canceling. My request was approved in 5 hours and I had my money back in 4 days. Get IPVanish Now!

5. PrivateVPN — High-Speed Servers to Stream From Your Google Nest Router Without Lag

PrivateVPN comes with a high-speed network assuring fast connections in multiple locations. However, my tests showed that the fastest servers were the closest ones to me. While it’s a little slower than ExpressVPN, you shouldn’t have any problems browsing, streaming, and torrenting. It offers strong security features, including military-grade encryption and multiple security protocols. I ran some IP and DNS leak tests and I discovered that PrivateVPN kept my data private. This means that no one could see who I was and what I was browsing — not even my internet service provider and authorities. What I didn’t like about PrivateVPN is that its server network is quite small. However, it performed great during my tests, and you can easily use it with your Google Nest WiFi router. While it’s quite affordable by default, you can take a look at its latest discounts and get it for as little as $2/month. You can also take advantage of its 30-day money-back guarantee and try it for free. To get a refund, I contacted the support team through its website. I had to explain why I was canceling and the agent tried to convince me to stay, but he approved my request after 15 minutes. My money was back in my account in 8 days. Get PrivateVPN ​​Now!

Quick Comparison Table: Google Nest WiFi VPN Features

Since you can’t install a full VPN on a Google Nest WiFi router, you’ll need to use a dual router setup with a router that can support the VPN you choose and connect your Nest to that. Some VPNs come with a dedicated router app that makes them really easy to use on routers. Some VPNs also come with a smart DNS feature that lets you change your online location directly with your Google Nest (for streaming, for ex.), but it doesn’t offer the full protection or features of the VPN.

How to Set Up a Google Nest WiFi Router With a VPN

Google Nest WiFi routers aren’t directly compatible with VPNs. Therefore, you’ll need to set up the VPN on your regular router and connect the Google Nest to it though a WAN cable. Get Started With ExpressVPN Now!

Can I use a free VPN on my router?

I don’t recommend using a free VPN as it can seriously impact your online experience. Most free VPNs are not compatible with routers, offer limited bandwidth, and in order to make a living, they record and sell your data. So, I would highly suggest sticking to a great premium VPN.

Will a VPN router slow down my speed?

A VPN may slow down your speeds. I tested some of the best VPNs on the internet, and in my top 5 VPNs the drop in speeds wasn’t noticeable. They all offer fast speeds, unlimited bandwidth, and bypass ISP throttling.

Can I install a VPN directly on my Google Nest WiFi Router?

No, because its firmware is not compatible with VPNs. However, you can install a VPN on a regular router and connect the Google Nest WiFi to it. The installation process is simple, and you can set your router up in under 30 minutes. Get Started With ExpressVPN Now!

Get the Best VPN for Google Nest WiFi Router Today

Finding the best VPN for your Google WiFi router is not hard. All the VPNs I shortlisted provide you with a fast and secure online experience, so you’ll be able to browse, stream, and even download files with no interruptions. My top recommendation is ExpressVPN. It offers superfast speeds, a large server network, and impressive security features. Best of all, you can try ExpressVPN risk-free. It’s backed by a reliable 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can ask for a full refund if you don’t like it.

To summarize, the best VPNs for Google Nest WiFi routers are…

The information above can be used to track you, target you for ads, and monitor what you do online.

         VPNs can help you hide this information from websites so that you are protected at all times. We recommend ExpressVPN — the #1 VPN out of over 350 providers we've tested. It has military-grade encryption and privacy features that will ensure your digital security, plus — it's currently offering 49% off.        
          Visit ExpressVPN         

5 Best VPNs for Google Nest WiFi Routers   How to Set It Up - 865 Best VPNs for Google Nest WiFi Routers   How to Set It Up - 915 Best VPNs for Google Nest WiFi Routers   How to Set It Up - 435 Best VPNs for Google Nest WiFi Routers   How to Set It Up - 355 Best VPNs for Google Nest WiFi Routers   How to Set It Up - 92